Into The Wild

From the past 20 minutes or so I’ve been left wondering. Pondering about what happened to the life of Christopher McCandless. After watching this movie I was taken away, lost track completely of the surrounding and i headed towards my room. I switched on the fan to full speed and sat on the bed, still thinking. I was pretty much confused, I was left dazed by the fact that I was not able to interpret what’s on my mind. It’s really a very hard thing when you know what’s on your mind but you are not sure if its what you really think it is. Lying on my back I kind of felt like crying, I didn’t cry though. I removed my specs and kept it aside on the bed. I started thinking, slowly, the entire movie came like a flash. Why? ‘Why did it happen like this’, was what I was wondering about. I finally was able to understand but it was all still obscure. I rolled on the bed. Lots of thoughts came gushing into my mind. I couldn’t relate them at the start but slowly I could sort them out. All these happened so quickly. I must agree that i started feeling great! Yeah whenever things like these happen to me and whenever I pass this kind of phase I kind of spend time thinking and in the end I feel glad and happy. But in this case i’m not sure i’d feel happy about the tragic story of the protagonist. I just wanted to make an account of how i spent the last 20 minutes or so in a haze, so i’m writing this piece here. I’m still thinking though, about the movie. It’s there at the corner of my mind somewhere and it’ll be there for quite sometime.

Now that i feel somewhat better I decided to write this- write whatever comes to my mind. I feel I just get involved too much whenever I watch a movie or read a book that interests me. About Into The Wild, I had this movie with me from a long time but hadn’t got a chance to watch it. It had been quite sometime since I had watched a movie. From what I’d gathered from a friend and my cousin, I was sure this was a movie which I’d love to watch. I did enjoy it. This is really the kind of movie I’d love to watch.

To think of a person going alone into the wild leaving everything and everyone behind is great. I love this sort of things and if I do get a chance I’ll spend sometime all alone in a forest or a mountain with no contact with outside world, with no modern gadgets and spend some time there with the nature listening to the music mother nature plays! I used to think of this as a teenager and even as a boy i had this ‘wild’ dreams. Will my dreams be fulfilled is a completely different question, the fact that the protagonist of the movie goes into wilderness all alone made me more interested. People he encountered on his journey, the kind of relationship he developed with them and the fact that he could resist not getting attached to them is incredible. Well, i’m not going to write a review about the movie, it’s best watched without knowing much about it. I admit that I’d have loved to read the book by John Krakauer before watching the movie. I’ll try to lay my hands on it sometime in the future.

This is not the first time, I remember I’d spent the entire evening in the similar state after watching ‘The Shawshank Redemption’ and ‘Touching the void’. There are some unforgettable moments, the moments I spend with myself thinking and wondering about facts, thoughts and so many other things. The movies, I guess, gave me a channel or a path so that i could reach there, inside my mind, and to realize and rethink about so many things. Its like going into the wild. alone with no one but myself! I always felt better. I feel better.

4 Responses to “Into The Wild”

  1. porsamini Says:

    Same here. I really wait for a chance to just go all alone to somewhere some path takes me. I had also made such an attempt and asked my parents to go to my native all alone, didn’t work out though. Well, i gotta wait. Stand up on my own toes and then its my world. But i also should remember its not for my own happiness. Though i ain’t gonna travel anywhere for the sake of happiness. Remember Christopher’s last words “Happiness is real when shared”.
    You can’t live without happiness for a long time, but without someone around you, there is no happiness

  2. xfive Says:

    Nice man. That was Chris’ realization but rem he loved it when he went places all alone..
    I think Happiness comes from within. Its I and only I can realize it and enjoy it. No matter if you’re with many people but still you can only enjoy when you do something for you; something that you want to do. I love someone and extract happiness out of it but its a diff thing but when I can help myself to extract the hidden bliss inside of myself- I can really get to know who I am. I feel happiness and I are the same thing. Being alone or going somewhere all alone, spending time with oneself helps them to realize this. Thats what I feel it is.

    i’m waitng to read your new post which is almost done and sitiin on your desktop! 🙂

  3. porsamini Says:

    Hmmm yeah that’s also true. We gotta really experience spending such time once in a lifetime and how we realize our own self and the big change. Hmmm you already read that post didn’t u 😉 Ya i gotta do few modifications, I’l post it soon

  4. xfive Says:

    Yeah.. I did read it but not completely. I thought of reading it completely when you post it here. Don’t make too many changes man, ‘coz the first one is always the best!


Leave a comment